Speaker pro Tem Mullin Has Three Bills Clear Senate Elections Committee

Thursday, July 13, 2017

AB 84, AB 467 and ACA All Move Forward

Sacramento – On Wednesday, July 12, 2017,  the Senate Elections Committee passed three bills authored by Speaker pro Tem Kevin Mullin that continue his commitment to voter engagement and empowerment.

AB 84 would Make California Count by moving California’s presidential primary to March starting in 2020. “There is significant interest in giving California’s voters a greater voice in choosing presidential candidates,” Mullin said. “If California’s primary joins Super Tuesday, our voters would have a more prominent voice at a time when candidates are being tested for the first time on the national stage.”

ACA 1 would eliminate confusion around when a statewide ballot measure becomes law. Currently, the California Constitution states that takes place the day after the election, but given many ballots are still left to be counted, results aren’t always immediately conclusive. This change is particularly important given the large number of voters who are voting by mail and the implementation of SB 450. According to Mullin, “Many races are too close to call the day after an election and consequently, that can lead to confusion among voters and those responsible for implementing or enforcing a particular ballot measure.  ACA 1 states that a ballot measure would go into effect five days after the official declaration of the vote by the Secretary of State.”

AB 467 will ensure voter access to election material while preserving local resources by allowing local transportation expenditure plans to be posted online in lieu of being printed in a county’s voter information handbook.  “Modernizing voter access to information will help control costs and still provide full online access to the proposed transportation measure,” Mullin stated. “This bill also provides the option for a voter to request the traditional print version of the election information if they prefer.”

Kevin Mullin represents the 22nd Assembly District and is the Speaker pro Tempore of the California State Assembly. He chairs the Select Committee on Biotechnology and serves on the following committees:  Budget, Budget Subcommittee #3 on Resources and Transportation, Business and Professions, Elections and Redistricting, and Revenue and Taxation. The 22nd district includes the cities of Belmont, Brisbane, Burlingame, Foster City, Hillsborough, Millbrae, Pacifica, Redwood City, San Bruno, San Carlos, San Mateo, portions of South San Francisco and the San Mateo County Coastside communities of Montara and Moss Beach.